Skip to main content

Mansfield Magazine

Forging Ahead

Jan 17, 2014 03:10PM ● By Lisa Drake

John Boyett is just 18 years old and he’s already a man of steel.

The Mansfield native, who now resides in nearby Burleson, has become quite adept at creating art objects of metal and wood using his own unique style.

He first became interested in welding when he and his father built a barn near their home.

But when his creative mind took over he discovered he could craft original works of art with metal and wood. He’s already been at it for more than half of his life. He has created a small business that sustains itself and allows him to save money for when he attends Tarleton State University next year.

Boyett is a 2013 graduate of Mansfield Frontier High School. He comes from a close family with ties to Mansfield that date back 100 years. His mom is a nurse at Cook Children's Medical Center in Fort Worth where she has worked for more than two decades. He says is proud of his mom who fought and survived adenocarcinoma (cancer) earlier this year. His dad has worked for Union Pacific for 20 years.

Here’s more about what drives Boyett and how he creates art from raw materials.

How did you get interested in woodworking and welding? The first time I got interested in welding is when my dad and I built our barn at our house. Since then I have built metal school projects and started a small business doing small structural and decorative metal and woodworking.


Tell us more about your abilities and the projects you create. I do a lot of horseshoe metal design and woodworking, when I get an idea it's something that I've got to go through with.

What kinds of tools are required? For welding you need a welder, saw, torch, plasma cutter, gloves, welding hood, wire brush and an endless amount of things depending on what you're doing. For woodworking you need a drill, nail gun and saw for your basic necessities.

How long have you been doing this? I've been doing woodworking for about 10 years, but I have only been welding for around 4 years. 

What kind of time do you dedicate to this hobby? Whenever I have spare time aside from school, work, going to our land and tending livestock I like to weld or do something to better my operation.

How did you develop a passion for woodworking and welding? Watching my dad weld, and my grandpa do woodworking really got me interested in doing this. Then the more I thought of designs for structures and horseshoe decor I developed a real passion.

Have you earned money through woodworking and welding? Yes. Not much but it does pay for itself and helps build my business some.

What is that money used for? First I put the money back into the hobby to make sure I'm not pouring all my money in to it, then the rest mainly goes in to savings.

Have you traveled for your hobby? Contests? I have shown projects at the Tri-Chapter Ag Science Fair where I've got Grand and Reserve Champion platings and at the Tarrant County Youth Fair where I got Reserve Champion on a lamp that I built for my mom.

Have you been recognized with any other awards? I won Ag Mechanics proficiency awards twice while I was in high school in FFA.

What do you like most about woodworking and welding? It really helps clear your head, there's no distractions and you can make it how you want it. It's an art on its own.

Describe how your family has supported your interest. My family is always helping me find new designs, and pushing me to do good and build my operation.

How long to you plan to continue this hobby? As long as I live. 

What kind of student are you? Favorite subject? Mostly A's and B's. My favorite subject is Agriculture.

Other interests? I raise livestock. Since getting interested in livestock my freshman year in FFA I have owned 7 species of livestock.

What do you do in your spare time? In my spare time I like to weld and work with my livestock or work at my family's land.

How would you describe your personality? I'm really old fashioned. I like to make people smile and I'm strong to my roots.

What are your college and career plans? I plan to attend Tarleton State University starting in the summer of 2014 to earn a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture Education to teach Agriculture.

What do you like most about school? It's self-rewarding when I do good, I just feel good about myself.

Who has inspired you and why? My high school ag teacher, Vicki Coonrod, has been a great inspiration. She was always there for me during high school and I know I can always go back to her if I need anything. She's like a second mom.

Ice cream or apple pie? My Hammaws pecan pie, it's the best ever. It needs an award or something.

Weirdest food indulgence? It's not really weird to me, but I've had elk.

What are you most proud of? I'm most proud of the place I came from and the family I came from. Together we can do anything and will always be there for each other.


Would you like to nominate a kid to be profile in Kidding Around? Do that here and email us at 




Like what you're reading? Subscribe to Mansfield Magazine's free newsletter to get regular updates

Embed this content on your website