Skip to main content

Mansfield Magazine

MISD's 2015 Teachers of the Year

Jul 02, 2015 09:15AM ● By Kevin

2015 Teachers of the Year, Ana Munoz and Chrissy Boydstun. Photo courtesy of MISD.

Congratulations to Ana Muñoz from D.P. Morris Elementary School (Elementary Teacher of the Year) and Chrissy Boydstun from Mansfield High School (Secondary Teacher of the Year).

The process to become MISD's Teacher of the Year begins by winning at the campus level. From those winners, a committee selects three finalists from the elementary schools and three from the secondary (intermediate, middle and high) schools. The district Teachers of the Year are then chosen from those finalists after a round of interviews.  

Muñoz (pictured left) and Boydstun (pictured right) were formally recognized for their achievement at an MISD employee reception on Monday, May 11. The two winners will go on to compete in the Education Service Center Region XI Teacher of Year competition and could potentially go on to compete for Texas Teacher of the Year.

MISD would also like to commend all of the Teachers of the Year from each campus:

  • Suzanne Mehringer - Alternative Education Center
  • Ashley Alloway - Lake Ridge High School
  • Howard R. Ritz - Legacy High School
  • Melissa Parsinen - Frontier High School / BBCTA
  • Chrissy Boydstun - Mansfield High School (district winner)
  • Sarah Hergenrother - Summit High School
  • Keith Howell - Timberview High School (district finalist)
  • Austin Reese - Coble Middle School
  • Amy Adams - Howard Middle School
  • Priscilla Fontenot - Jones Middle School
  • Mike Winn - Wester Middle School
  • Amy Powers - Worley Middle School
  • Lee Anne Dozier - Jobe Middle School
  • Cara Guttman - Icenhower Intermediate School
  • Monica Abrams - Mary Orr Intermediate School (district finalist)
  • Shelby Thayer - Shepard Intermediate School
  • Susan Cary - Cross Timbers Intermediate School
  • Jacquetta Etheridge - Lillard Intermediate School
  • Kim Simmons - Low Intermediate School
  • Judy Hall - Anderson Elementary
  • Katie Carney - Boren Elementary School (district finalist)
  • Shirley Cauley-Williams - Brockett Elementary School
  • Susan Morrison - Brown Elementary
  • Heather Jones - Cabaniss Elementary School
  • Lori Goetz - Daulton Elementary School
  • Sandra Alvarado - Davis Elementary School (district finalist)
  • Ashley Rodriguez - Gideon Elementary School
  • Lisa St. Clair - Harmon Elementary School
  • Sherry Corley - Holt Elementary School
  • Stacie Terry - Jones Elementary School
  • Ana Muñoz - Morris Elementary School (district winner)
  • Julianne Secrest - Nash Elementary School
  • Joanne Baylis - Neal Elementary School
  • Jami Davis - Perry Elementary School
  • Lisa Schwarzer - Ponder Elementary School
  • Connie Sorem - Reid Elementary School
  • Julie Stephens - Tarver Rendon Elementary School
  • Jo Lynn Cookus - Sheppard Elementary School
  • Jo Ellen Anderson - Spencer Elementary School
  • Cherie Haefner - Smith Elementary School
  • Janet Ivy-Corn - Tipps Elementary
Information courtesy of the MISD Newsroom. For the original story, click here.

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to Mansfield Magazine's free newsletter to get regular updates

Embed this content on your website